By Luka Daniel (Bauchi),

The Independent National Electoral Commission ( INEC, has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress ( APC) , Comrade Yusuf Nuhu as the winner of the Saturday 17th bye-election of Toro Federal Constituency, Bauchi state.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission, Comrade Nuhu of All Progressives Congress ( APC) got a total number of 22,317 votes to defeat the flagbrear of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP), Alhaji Shehu Buba who polled 18,235‎ votes.

The Chief Returning Officer of INEC for the bye-election, Prof. Ahmed Tijani ‎who announced the election results on Sunday said out of the 41,552 total votes cast, the total number of valid votes was 40,552 while 970 votes were rejected.

Professor Tijjani announced that, “That Comrade Yusuf Nuhu having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared winner and is returned elected”.

Our correspondent reports that although low turnout of voters characterized the Saturday  election, the exercise was conducted under peaceful environment as no cases of violence or even card reader breakdown was recorded.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.